Conducting a Little Experiment with Serama Eggs

Did you know that eggs increase in weight the more they develop? This is a fact that boggles my own mind as it really doesn’t make a hell of a lot of sense but it is a fact and for the purposes of this little blog entry we’ll just blame it on magic. Anyway, there are charts that exist that will help any new chicken owner know how heavy the average egg is during which point of its development. However the average egg is far heavier than a Serama egg at the time it is laid so they are pretty useless to me. So I decided to change that and make my own chart.

I have popped eleven Serama eggs in the incubator today. Of them they all weighed exactly 1 oz, with three that were a bit smaller at 0.9 oz. Tomorrow I will weigh them again and see if it has changed. It probably won’t change noticeably until a week or so has passed but that’s OK. At least I’ll have practice by then. In the meanwhile I am also weighing the two chicks I have. They weighed 0.7 oz each yesterday. However the second chick was still wet when I weighed her and today she is only 0.6oz. The other chick has remained 0.7. I am not sure how long I want to be tracking their weight but we’ll see. In the meanwhile I will be using my egg weighing as an indicator of which ones are developing, which ones are duds, and when each stopped developing or hatched. That log will continue until hatch day where I’ll make a chart for the results and then decide if I want to continue with the experiment with the next batch of eggs. I mean there could potentially be more to learn. An old wives tale suggests the shape of the egg may be an indicator of sex with the pointier eggs belonging to roosters and the rounder ones belonging to hens. Although I do not believe this has any merit I do wonder if you can predict the sex by how fast the eggs and chicks themselves develop. Perhaps the eggs that are a tiny bit heavier could be roosters? I don’t know but it’s something I might want to check out.

In the meanwhile here’s a quick snap of little Mighty and Whitey. (I tried coming up with a better name for the white one but that’s all that stuck. SIGH. I’ll probably change it later.) Both are doing very well and are so active compared to the heavy breeds! They zip around and run and are usually pretty quiet while doing so!

Tomorrow I am planning on doing all my outside chores for the week, including taking some time out of my day to make some lovely shots of the rest of the chickens.

Image

Leave a Reply

